Book Review -Girl Online Going Solo (Written by Zoe Sugg)

Hello Fellow Readers,

In today’s post I’m going to be writing a book review on a book that I have recently finished reading. I am going to be using my own template and writing it how I would  like to. I hope you enjoy it.

Title of book – Girl Online Going Solo

Author – Zoe Sugg

Main characters – Penny, Noah, Elliott, and Megan

Other characters – Alex, Callum and Posey

Penny Porter is a student who runs and writes her own blog. She writes on her blog regularly, about everyday life situations and sometimes asks questions to her audience to help her or any of her friends out, if they are in difficult situations. Her blog used to be online, but after long she removed it, and is now offline.

There were many topics that I come across when I was reading this book and a few of them include; Anxiety (in different situations), Child’s P.O.V of parent’s divorcing and Bullying.

Anxiety came up quite a bit, as Penny, herself, suffers with anxiety. She is known to do so too, as her friends are very supportive of the fact. Not too far into the book, Penny meets a girl called Posey who she befriends and takes under her wing after learning that she suffers with severe stage fright. Penny found ways of helping Posey, one of which was to take her to meet Leah Brown, who before becoming an international superstar also suffered with stage fright. Posey had no idea, as she only saw Leah Brown as the superstar she is, but when she met her, she learnt all about Leah’s difficulty with stage fright and how she overcome it.

Along with Posey and Penny, Megan went along to meet Leah Brown too, who Megan started to bat down and, in my eyes, bully. She was muttering things under her breath about Posey and saying nasty things about Leah too. She also acted very badly too. I won’t say too much as I do not want to spoil anything for anyone who hasn’t yet read  the book. But, let’s be honest, who wouldn’t have read this book by now?

Penny’s aim was to help Posey with her stage fright, as Posey was chosen to play lead role in the production being held at the college, after a very successful audition. Megan was her understudy, which I mean thinks, If Posey was to for whatever reason drop out, Megan would stand in. Megan, being Megan, tried everything in order to get her own way for her to play lead role, which didn’t end up working, due to Penny’s ethics. Penny soon worked out for herself who was behind the drama of what happened.

Penny was also giving Megan advice on how to become a successful blogger, which I also took on board too, as it was very good advice, Thank you Penny, (Zoe).

Penny met Posey after taking a trip to London to see Megan at Madam Laplage’s  Arts college she was attending, where she also met Callum. Callum is a photography student, so as you would assume, himself and Penny got on like a house on fire. They were talking about his coursework and how he could improve his lighting in his photos too. They compared their cameras too.

Elliott was also in a very distressing position after learning his parent’s were getting divorced. As you would notice when you read it, it is not easy for any child to go through this sort of experience. I am aware that Elliott is in High school or just started college, but it is still a hurtful concept/experience that no one should have to experience, but certain things in life just aren’t meant to be. Before learning this, his parents were feuding a lot, which led him to run away without even telling Penny.This just goes to show how bad it was, he didn’t tell  Penny he was running away.

I found that when I was reading this, the way the descriptions were, I could imagine a lot  of Zoe, if that makes any sense. For example; when Penny visited Noah’s flat towards the end, it was described how Zoe’s old flat was laid out. The imagery was absolutely fantastic, I couldn’t fault it. Character wise, the way Elliott is described reminds me a lot of Mark, one of Zoe’s best friends in real life.

Overall, I liked the writing style of this book. The characters were well thought out and the location descriptions were amazing. The descriptions of the Lanes took me back to the time I visited Brighton. The introduction of new characters and new experiences were also very well thought out and put in place. The ideas fit in well, I thought. I feel it made it all the more relatable throwing new characters in and introducing new experiences too, like starting college and meeting new people. I just cannot fault this book.

I hope I haven’t given too much away and that you enjoyed reading this book review. Please let me know  in the comments what you think or what I could improve when writing book reviews.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read my blog. I appreciate it dearly.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review -Girl Online Going Solo (Written by Zoe Sugg)

    • themumwhoread says:

      Yes, she has three. Girl Online, Girl Online on Tour and Girl Online Going Solo. Aw, Thank You so much!! You’re welcome. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

